An ode to 51 lost children: Fellows Friday with Bahia Shehab

latinamericanwomenwearearrings:

This post really touched my heart.. As I read it I couldn’t avoid memories from my South American home to come to my mind.. Sad ones. In Bolivia dozens if not hundreds of persons die each year in accidents. A lot of them involve public transport: buses going too fast in dangerous curves, drivers driving for too long, or drinking while driving. People get run over every day, we don’t even hear about all the people that die this way, only of those who were run over in or near the cities, probably because there are witnesses.. The drivers are almost never caught, or at least it is never mentioned in the news. A grand uncle of my husband, the mother of a friend from school and a young friend from my theater group died this way, crossing the road or walking on the side of it.. I think no one was held responsible in any of those cases.. I wish people wouldn’t forget these victims.
I am sure people in Egypt will not forget these children as easily now, I know I won’t!

Originally posted on TED Blog:

In Bahia Shehab's latest work, three brothers have a conversation.Child 1: "They still didn't get the lesson." Child 2: "NO." Child 3: "It's OK, repetition is the best teacher."

Bahia Shehab’s latest work on the streets of Cairo memorialize 51 children killed in a school bus crash. In this image, three brothers have a conversation. Child 1: “They still didn’t get the lesson.” Child 2: “NO.” Child 3: “It’s OK, repetition is the best teacher.”

On November 17, 2012, in a village in Assuit-Egypt, a train crashed into a school bus killing 51 children. These kinds of accidents have always been brushed aside as random acts of chance. The minister of transportation resigned as a result, and the families of the children were compensated financially. There was a huge public outcry … but eventually these children were forgotten.

But the details of this accident that circulated on social networks were still very vivid in my mind. A video of a regretful father who, when asked the last thing he said to his son before he got on the bus…

View original 682 more words

This entry was posted in Latin American issues, Random, This Latin-American woman and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.